# 2015-2016 BCSSA AWARDS & RECOGNITION

The following Members were recognized at the BCSSA AGM May 29, 2016

## **BCSSA AWARDS**

**BCSSA ANNUAL RECOGNITION** 

VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR AWARD

COACH OF THE YEAR AWARD

RITHA JOHNSON OFFICIAL OF THE YEAR AWARD

SKATER BURSARIES

Rick Hofmann

Terry Norlander

Ted Houghton

Eric Spence

Mike Shi

**BCSSA YOUTH RECOGNITION** 

JUNIOR COACHES RECOGNITIONDana Coulter, Kamloops Long BladesYOUTH VOLUNTEER RECOGNITIONSarah Graham, Dawson Creek

Yolaine Kampman, Kamloops Long Blades Eric Spence, Kamloops River City Racers The Burnaby Group: Hannah Hoffman, Ally

Hoffman, Nora Wagner, Katherine

Brynjolfson, Anya Liu

**BCSSA SKATER AWARDS** 

SKATERS OF THE YEAR

National LT female:
National LT male:
Braden Clouthier
National ST female:
Jamie MacDonald
Provincial LT female:
Abi McCluskey
Provincial LT male:
Nick Goplen
Provincial ST female:
Chris Polier-So

**NATIONAL TEAM STATUS** 

ST Development Team:

LT NexGen Team:

Jamie MacDonald
Braden Clouthier
Jacob Graham

**BCSSA CLUB AWARDS** 

**OVERALL AWARDS** 

Most Improved Club:Fort St. John ElksMost Competitive Club:Ridge Meadows Racers

**CHAMPIONSHIP AWARDS** 

Neil Dyer Award: Fort St. John Elks
Clara Overend Award: Ridge Meadows Racers

**FUNale Award, Coastal Region:** Mission Racers **FUNale Award, OK-Int Region:** Vernon Vortex

FUNale Award, North/Central Region: Nechako Lake Clippers

GOOD NEWS AWARD: Ridge Meadows Racers

## **BCSSA EVENT AWARDS**

PROVINCIAL RELAY CHALLENGE WINNERS (10MIN 2PERSON)

**T2T Mixed T2T Male**Daniel Hall, Laura Hall

Jack Graves, Dylan Baliski

T2T Female Samantha Spencer, Ainsley Spencer

JUN MaleCormac Chui, Bryan LeonL2T MaleNate Benn, Daniel HallL2T FemaleAila Norlin, Devyn Hughes

BC RELAY CHALLENGE (AT BCST)

L2T MixedOkanaganT2T MaleFraser ValleyT2T FemaleFraser Valley

RANDY SULYMA MEMORIAL OPEN 5000M Eric Orlowsky

AGE CLASS CHAMPIONS (CANWEST &CACLT)

Noah Hyun Keanan St. Rose Timothy Song Janie Green Yuna Lovell

# **EXTERNAL AWARDS**

SPORT BC AWARDS

President's Award Lorna Holbech

Sr. Athlete Nominees Denny Morrison & Josie Spence

Winner Sport BC Sr. Male Athlete of the Year Denny Morrison

Jr. Athlete Nominees Sara Spence & Jacob Graham

Sport BC Coach of the Year Nominee Ariana VanDerStarre Finalist Sport BC Coach of the Year (top 3)

Ariana VanDerStarre

Sport BC Official of the Year Nominee Ariadne Hiller

BCWG Coast Capital Savings Leadership Bursary

Sherilyn Chung, Poco & Victoria Kalyniuk, Peninsula

### SPEED SKATING CANADA AWARD NOMINEES FOR THE 2015-16 SEASON

John Hurdis Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award: David Reith
Jean Dupre Outstanding Administrator of the Year Award: Lorna Holbech

#### SPEED SKATING CANADA AWARD WINNERS FROM LAST SEASON:

Gagne Family Award: The Stickel Family, Fort St. John

SSC Skater of the Year Denny Morrison

**SSC Honour Roll** Denny Morrison (for the World title in the 1500)

Peter Williamson Trust Fund Bursary Alec Janssens